Hello from BrewCity... Milwaukee, WI

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

coolkayaker

Original poster
Jan 9, 2017
New Berlin, WI
So I've actually been a member for over a year but never really dove into the site like I should have. I just recently started getting back into my meat and wanted to offer a kind hello to all of you. I have been reading a lot of posts lately on making snack sticks. My background is fresh sausage and I'm getting into the cured and semi cured realm. I even made my own curing chamber out of a used fridge and rigged it with temp and humidity controllers. I'll have to post on that in the future. But for now I am excited to make my first 5 lb batch of snack sticks. I'll try to post on that too.

A little about me... I have a Hungarian background so I have mainly made fresh Hungarian sausage with my family's recipe from the old country. I have an old cast iron stuffer that was handed down to me from my Grandpa to my Dad to me. I still use it to this day.

I have 2 gas grills (Weber Genesis and a Kenmore)and a Weber Kettle charcoal grill that I use for grilling and smoking. Would love to get an electric or propane smoker iin the near future though:)

I love kayaking and camping and being in nature. Oh, and I LOVE MEAT.

Reactions: kruizer
Welcome to the board! Say hello to the Wisconsin parks for me, I had many good visits in the 1990s, and feed some mosquitos for me.

Welcome back to SMF!

I spent a total of 4 weeks in Milwaukee in the late 1970's. One of my fonder memories was the tour of the Miller Brewery.
Gleaming 6 story copper brewing vats (tanks?), the filling, certainly make it faster than I could drink it.