Hello from Atlanta

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

itsmetimd

Fire Starter
Original poster
Sep 13, 2010
Woodstock, GA
Hi everyone,

My name's Tim and I live in Woodstock, GA - a suburb north of Atlanta.  I'm very new to smokers and I just got my first 'real' smoker a couple days ago.  I've got plenty of experience using a gas grill but have always wanted to try a real fire smoker.  I picked up a Brinkmann Smoke'n Pit and did a few mods to it - fire box, chimney extension and a heat deflector.

I'm trying my hand at some smoked turkey legs right now and will have a true trial by fire this weekend as 10 of my friends descend on Atlanta to drink beer, smoke cigars and eat ribs - guess who's in charge of the ribs?

Thanks for the great forum, I look forward to getting to know everyone here.

Tim

icon_cool.gif

First off Welcome Tim to SMF.  You'll like it here for there are alot of really good folks here that would just love to help you with just about anything to do with smoking. Now there are alot of proven recipes for some amazing things here too. So if you need sign up for the E-Course it's free and it will give you the basics of smoking and some good methods to use also. So the next big thing for you to do is go out and get you something to smoke and if you happen to have any questions just post it here and we will be happy to answer them for you.

Welcome To Your New Addiction

Howdy Tim,

welcome to SMF!!!

Check out the 3-2-1 method for spare ribs . Make sure your thermos are on the money and it's pretty foolproof.