Hello Fellow Smokers!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

webman27

Original poster
Apr 23, 2010
Massillon, Ohio
Hi everyone! I am new to the world of smoking and have just recently purchased a 40" masterbuilt electric smoker. A friend/coworker recommended this site and I have been reading up for a few weeks now and am very impressed. I know most of the die hards would not even acknowledged an electric smoker but being a rookie it seemed like a good choice and my first shot with babybacks came out great, first pork butt not so good because my party was rushing me, second round was fantastic!

On to my first question. I am having a birthday party for my 2yr old on Sunday and want to try my hand at brisket. I have ordered a whole untrimmed choice or prime certified angus beef brisket from our local grocery store's meat department.

I have been doing a ton of reading up on tips and techniques and my concern is that I would like to have it ready to eat around noon on Sunday. My question is whether I can do the majority of the smoking Saturday evening, a solid 6+ hours with adding wood chips the whole time. Around midnight or 1 in the morning I was thinking about wrapping the brisket in foil and putting it back in the smoker and setting the temp around 190 and leaving it in there all night, taking it out around 10 in the morning and letting it rest for a couple hours.

Anyone think this will work or will it dry out being in the smoker so long with no smoke? I also have a water pan I figured I would make sure to keep full.

Sorry for the long post!