Hello Everyone!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokin mississippi lady

Original poster
Sep 29, 2007
Hazlehurst, MS
Hey Ya'll! My name is Tamra and I am new to this Smokin stuff. I was diagnosed with Vertigo a year ago and have had to be on a low sodium diet ever since. Needless to say, I have had to learn how to cook all over again and have become on unofficial nutritionist! LOL! My husband is an avid deer hunter and I look forward to Deer Season because he fills my freezer and we don't have to buy meat for about 8 months of the year. I love deer sausage, but on my low sodium restrictions I can't have it! Stinks! So, we have bought the equipment this year to make our own sausage and that includes a smoker! Woo Hoo! LOL! We have just bought a Masterbuilt Electric Smoker. We got it from Bass Pro and the salesman there had been smoking meat since the 70's and was very helpful in tellin us a mix of woods to use as well as using juices in the water pan for extra flavor. I am here to not only learn more about smoking meat but I am also looking for no sodium rubs, marinades and recipes (for example the stuffed pork loin sounds awesome....has anyone tried to make it low sodium? If you have send me the recipe please!). Well that's about all for now. I look forward to talking to you all at one time or another and I'll be reading the boards! See you online!

Welcome to SMF! Check out the 5 day ecourse, and then the rubs and sauces forum....Hmm seems to me I have heard of some spice combos that make up for ALOT of the salt in a recipe...

I'll poke about a bit, and I'll wager at least 20 other folks will do the same here!

Great group of people this place has collected :{)