Hello All - And Tulsa Jeff

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

polishsmoker

Original poster
Dec 26, 2014
I am new to Smoking.

I have plenty of Food Toys, I.E. Bread Machines, Meat Grinder, Ronco Rotisserie, ETC...ETC...

But - I am new to smoking.

I am happy to have discovered this Forum.

I recently purchased a MES 40 from Lowe's...Let me tell you more...

Not sure if it is a Gen I or II..

1200 W element - Controls in Front(Not on the back)No glass doors...Yes, I bought the 3 year warranty after reading these boards...

I bought it to primarily smoke my excellent homemade Kielbasa:):):)

I live in NE PA(hanna or no)and use my prunings from my apple, cherry, pear and peach trees to smoke.

I keep a "Meat Journal" and so far I have Smoked - 

Rolled & Netted Boneless Pork Shoulder 3.5 LBS. - Not Bad - Probe Temp is way off...25 degrees low - learning experience

Re Smoked the leftovers...Better 2nd night... :):):) Adjusted Temps & Wood

2nd smoke - Home ground/home made Beef Sausage - Kielbasa test flight - first taste seemed over smoked - 3 days latter OMG -      kind of taste like Lebanon Bologna....excellent colar...

3rd smoke - The Christmas Kielbasa - Most Excellent - Only 2 hours of smoke - Good oven safe meat therm in meat - good oven         safe therm in smoker - Nice result - Color not as cherry red as I would like - Paprika in recipe? 

4th smoke - The Christmas Ham & Pit Beans - 8 LBS.Spiral Ham from Aldi's...Face slices kind of dry but OMG - rear fat and bark         out of this world... 

Well, The Boss has come home and I have to go...

Looking forward to meeting all of you!

Polish Smoker

texas.gif