Heat questions.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cheesehead

Fire Starter
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
May 23, 2007
I got my Camp Chef Smoke Vault 18 put together. When I turned it on to season it I sprayed the inside with Pam put a wet hickory chunk in the chip pan and filled the water tray.

On the low setting it will only come down to 250 and there is much too orange tips on the flames I believe. The only way to get the temp down was to run it just a touch off of the warm setting.

Does this sound right? Will the temp be more manageable once loaded up with food?

Newbie here just learning the ropes.

TYIA

Jeff

Jeff, DeeJayDebi will be along in a minute to help you. She has one also.
She likes hers and has not reported any problems.

You may be OK since a new smoker will cook hotter than one than has been well seasoned. Lets see what the lowest temperature is after 3-4 smokes.

Don't mean to hijack the thread, but I've also got a heat question (although it's on a GOSM). I know that putting some meat in the smoker will cause the temp to go down. My question is--if i'm wanting to cook at 225, should i get it up to that temp then put the meat in (causing it to dip for awhile), or should i set it a bit higher, let the meat "bring it down" to the desired temp, then back off the heat?