Greetings from South Dakota

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bdlight4

Original poster
Aug 28, 2007
God's country
I'm new to this smoking thing. I just purchased a MES, grinder, and meat mixer to process my own venison. Was looking for recipes when I came accross your site. I would have to say I'm excited to get started. I'm heading to Wally World in an hour or so to purchase a pork loin for the smoker tomorrow. I was thinking about a mustard bath along with a nice rub, allowing to sleep in the fridge overnight and rest most of the day because, at 3:00 pm it's getting smoked! If anyone wants to offer up some pointers, I'm all open. If I have done my research, I will smoke at 240 until internal temp is 150. I will be using dry hickory chips a handfull at a time, and continue smoke until done. Rule of thumb says about 1.5 hours per pound. What do I do with the damper on top of the unit? Thanks for the help and enjoy the site. Smoke on!

Welcome to the site!

Purchase Jeff's Famous Rub and put it all over the mustard covered pork. The taste is amazing!

Welcome to SMF from just North of you !!! Be sure and season your smoker before you use it, it is a good test run and it will elminate any new tastes or odors from your smoker to the meat.

You can spray the inside with Pam, crank it up to a high temp and get some smoke going for a couple of hours

Hello and welcome to the SMF. You'll have plenty of sound advise from some friendly folks on this site. Looking forward to your Q Views!

Welcome to SMF..bdlight4