Got A Meat Slicer Coming - What Else Do I need

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

duffman

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Jul 15, 2010
Nebraska - Go Big Red!
My wife had a coupon and other stuff for Khols so I persuaded her to use them to get me a meat slicer as an early Christmas gift. I got the Chef's Choice 609 Premium Electric Food Slicer. I was wondering if I should get anything else to maintain it? I see on Amazon the recommend getting G & F 1607L Cut Resistant 100-Percent Kevlar Gloves and McGlaughlin Oil PETROL-GEL 4 Oz. Lubricant Tube. Would anyone with a meat slicer be able to recommend getting or not getting these?

Also any suggestions on using it? I have never used a meat slicer before but I have been doing enough Bottom and Sirloin roasts this  summer I am tired of not having evenly sliced lunch meat. I am smoking a bottom round roast this weekend. I was hoping to have the slicer by early next week to slice it with. Is cold the best way to slice things like that?

Yes, I'd agree on the gloves. You obviously MUST be careful, however, I find the gloves cumbersome to use. At one cooking gig I had corporate wanted us to wear a glove when using any knife....a real PITA. I find at work lubing the slicer with pure old mineral oil works quite well, leaving no sticky residue and cheap. Food grade, safe and you can also use it with a stone to sharpen knives or, I'm also told, you can use it as a laxative (if needed).....just sayin'........Willie

Another question. How long can I keep the smoked bottom round in the fridge before I need to slice and freeze it? My new meat slicer might not be here until Thursday next week. Darn Columbus day.