Gonna build my first UDS

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

traffictech

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 2, 2012
Central Florida
Ok its settled I'm building my first smoker.

I have a drum place over in Zellwood that has all types and sizes.

Gonna send the wife over Thursday to pick up a few 55gal's.

I have a good idea of what I need to do to build a good UDS (basic model) from reading all the posts here, but I want to experiment with some other ideas. I will post as I go with lots of pic's.

My wife thinks I will go nuts with the designs but what can I say I play in traffic for a living I'm already nuts.

I even have ideas for controller cabinet smokers...lol

I would appreciate any comments good or bad.

My first idea is low profile brass bulkhead installed on the bottom to make cleaning easy.

I've used a few on my wife pond and they will be air tight.

That makes since. Thanks.

I've read about with and without doors.

How often would you need to refill the water pan or will it last thru most smokes?

I don't have a UDS made yet, got a barrel drilled and burned out; just need to sand it down, paint and assemble it yet. In my opinion a water pan is not needed, but would rather you here that from some experienced UDS owners instead of listening to my advice on that.

That makes since. Thanks.

I've read about with and without doors.
How often would you need to refill the water pan or will it last thru most smokes?

I don't have a water pan in any of the ones I have built and frankly don't see a need for them. A diffuser plate on the other hand is a nice touch, but not necessary.