Funky smellin Butt!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

okjsmoker

StickBurners
Original poster
Jun 21, 2006
south central Kansas
I bought three butts from Wally world a couple days ago, kept them in the fridge until today... pulled them out and opened them up and all three had some kind of funky smell, they didnt have a rancid smell like they were rotting, not like im an expert at smelling rancid meat... but it was definetly not a good aroma.

The date on all three said use or freeze by 10/01/08 so its not like they were out of date.

I went ahead and washed them up, dried them off and the smell was pretty much gone. I went ahead and hit them with the mustard and rub, and in the smoker they went.

I think this is the last time I buy butts from Wally, the last one I did, was the same way, except much much stronger smelling when I opened it, so it got tossed in the garbage. They were all Tyson brand.

Ive heard the rule of thumb is you dont mess with pork as it can make you sick. And I would never dream of serving something that would make people sick. Looking for fast opinions since I have an event tomorrow, and dont have much time to start over If I have to.

My personal thought is that since the smell went away with a washing, it is just something on the surface causing it, and since I will take the meat to 200 internal, all should be good?

I've read posts on here that sometimes the cryovaced packages will have a strong smell when opened , mayby due to being sealed up when too fresh . but as long as the smell washes away you should still be good.