Frustrated and confused

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokecurl

Original poster
Sep 4, 2014
British Columbia, Canada
Hello! I'm a complete newbie here and to smoking. I'm currently attempting to smoke chicken leg quarters in a cheap bullet-style smoker. It's not going well. Or it might be...I'm not sure.

I'm not sure the smoker brand would help but for what it's worth, it's a Master Chef Vertical Smoker from Canadian Tire.

Aside from problems of getting this thing up to temperature (currently holding steady at 220F or so), my main issue right now is the temperature of the chicken. I have a probe in one of the quarters which runs to an external thermometer.

It'll go up to 168F, then drop to 160F. Then go up again to 167F, then drop down again. I've been smoking for 3.5 hours and it's been doing this weird temperature thing for the last hour or so.

Is this normal?? Any quick way to get this thing up to a higher temperature for crispy skin?

Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks for your time reading!

PS

This is my second smoke. First smoke I did Trout which had it's own share of problems but turned out anyways.

Update: The chicken finally got up to 170F and then kept climbing. It was well over 200 when I filled the water bowl up again and then the temperature dropped considerably.

I've now learned a valuable lesson - keep water bowl empty for chicken as it seems to have sucked all the heat out of there when I refilled it.

Since the temperature dropped so much, I tried getting the fire going hotter in the bottom. Thought it was going nicely, but when I went out there just now the temperature had dropped to 150F. Ack!

I panicked and stuck the chicken in the oven where it's cooking at 350F.