Fridge to Smoker conversion

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kjuncowboy61

Original poster
Jan 8, 2013
Lake Charles, LA
Hello all! I'm new to SMF (really smoking im general) and am just starting my first build and i could use a bit of help from you fella's that are well versed in these builds. I recently acquired an irreparable carter-haufmann SS commercial fridge. It has a stainless interior, fiberglass insulation in the walls, and the interior is roughly 5' x 2'.
My plan is to make a smoker/cooker out of this fridge with an electric heating element and a digital thermostat. I don't know if I would need a cold smoker or exactly what type of smoke generator because I'm not very familiar with smoking at all. The main thing I will be smoking in this box is deer sausage (tired of paying to get deer processed) . I could really use some help on what type of heating element, thermostat, and smoke generator to use. I'm not completely convinced that I need to use electric heat, I just figure that it is the easiest to control. If y'all have any suggestions, please feel free!
As soon as I figure out how to post some pictures from my IPhone I will do so!

kjuncowboy61,

Welcome to the forums!
welcome1.gif

You can read about my electric conversion here: http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/115657/commercial-ss-fridge-build-my-first-try

If your fridge really has fiberglass insulation, you're already miles ahead of where I was when I started. It was still a fun project. Good luck!

mneeley490,