Food safety

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

goodysmeat

Original poster
Dec 19, 2014
Troy mo
I am new to smoking and I have been reading all over the forum after my first smoke and have ran across the food probe and injecting part of these threads and just want to make sure I am reading right so no one gets hurt from my cooking.... I injected my first loin I did and warmed the smoker up with my meat probe and my smoker probe hooked to my maverick so I could test it out for my first run I got the smoker to 250 and let it cycle a few times. The night before I had injected my loin and put some dry seasoning on the outside and set it in the fridge over night... I put the loin on a rack and stuck my meat probe in shut the door and let it go to an IT of 145... I now know I shoulda let it go to 165 from what I was told... Now to my questions how do you monitor a smaller piece of meat before putting your probe in at 140 like I was reading? Seems pointless to even have a probe if your only gonna use it from 140-165 and from what ive read is everybody uses a probe on here and I just don't know what the common practice on this is?? And is injecting even worth it if I have to leave it in their for the extra time where it could possibly dry out?? Thanks in advance for any responses

Folks here advise against putting the probe in until the surface of the meat is above 140*F (not internal temp). This happens fairly quickly. The thought is pathogens on the surface can be pushed into the meat. Fair enough.