First Turkey

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

osully

Original poster
Oct 5, 2010
Hi. I just bought a turkey to smoke  this weekend. I bought  a 20 pound bird. Just read on the web site that they recommend only a 14 pound bird. Why? I estimate the cooking time time to be around 13 hours, does this sound right.

I have a master built propane smoker. There is lots of room for the big guy. Am I crazy  to attempt this? Should I get a smaller bird? Can I do 2 turkeys the same weight at the same time? Thanks in advance for your replies.

I have not even attempted a turkey yet.

If I do, it will be smaller than 20 pounds, especially for my first one.

I believe one of the problems is getting it done before it goes bad, but I really haven't looked into it.

Somebody who knows a lot more about smoking turkeys than I do, should be along soon.

I think since this is your first post, you should go to "Roll Call" and introduce yourself, so we can all welcome you.

You might want to slow down a bit & start with an easier chore.

Welcome to a great place Osully,

Bearcarver

Best ta spatchcock a bird that big ta get it outa the danger zone in less then 4 hours.  That be why we stick with bout 12 lb a bird.

Two 10 lb'ers won't take much longer then a 20 pounder, acutally might be a bit quicker.

Last edited: