First time smoking a pork shoulder..

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

texasrob

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jun 24, 2014
Hello All...I'm a newbie to the world of smoking meats. Moved to Texas in September from New England and got the BBQ/Smoking bug big time. Here is my question...I made my first pork shoulder a few weekends ago. I started with using some yellow mustard then added a rub that I found online. I then put the shoulder in the frig overnight. When I got it the next morning I was a bit shocked that the rub really didn't stick to the shoulder, it broke down and I ended up with a little pool of my rub in the Tupperware I was using, with which in turn didn't give me a great bark when it was done. I guess I was expecting the rub to stick better to the meat, like when I do ribs...the rub never seems to break down on ribs. Can some explain to me why the rub on the shoulder broke down and didn't stick to the meat, like it does on ribs? What should I do next time or can someone provide a rub that sticks. Again I'm a newbie at smoking...so I'd appreciate any/all feedback. Thanks in advance!

-Rob

Hey @TexasRob  Welcome to SMF. You can come back to New England. We have smokers here too! 
yahoo.gif

Not sure why the mustard rub didn't stay put. Maybe it was on a bit to heavy? 

A lot more moisture in the shoulder. Alot of the rub got into the meat. Just apply more in the morning. Or I rub then go right into the smoker.

Last edited:
Hello Bob,