First time smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Sandman92

Original poster
Sep 11, 2020
Guys hello from India!!!

This is my first time smoking meats. I managed to fabricate an offset from an old barrel. And did my first cook a few days back. Used jackfruit wood Chunk's for it was we don't easily get hard wood chunks around. I am a bit confused on how to go about it. Would be wonderful if you could help me with the following:

-if i am planning on using charcoal as my heat source how often should I replenish with wood Chunks should it be as soon as I stop seeing smoker or can one chunk smoulder for a few hours.
-is it important to use a water pan?
- what do I do if I can't get dry wood can we smoke with green wood and if yes what are the cons of it .
- what's the best strategy to use when you need another coal bed. Do we just add more to the firebox or start with a new batch in the chimney.

Thanks in advance guys

Welcome to SMF from Minnesota, USA. You will have to feed wood as needed to maintain smoke until you are done. I would not use green wood as it will not make good smoke for your food. A water pan is good to keep moisture in the smoker and steady your temps. You will have to keep a good coal bed going through out your cook.

Guys hello from India!!!

This is my first time smoking meats. I managed to fabricate an offset from an old barrel. And did my first cook a few days back. Used jackfruit wood Chunk's for it was we don't easily get hard wood chunks around. I am a bit confused on how to go about it. Would be wonderful if you could help me with the following: