First time ribs...

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

yankswinagain

Original poster
Jun 11, 2013
New Jersey
Needed to do three racks of ribs on Friday, somewhat unplanned (the wife took them out of the freezer - so needed to use them).  

Dry rub (McCormick's Brown Sugar Bourbon Mix) with apple juice. Used apple wood in the smoker and the 3-2-1 method.

Trimming them was more difficult than I thought it would be, but by rack #3 I had the hang of it.  The "skirt" was the hardest part to do.  

I am new to smoking in general, I had some trouble regulating the amount of smoke being generated - I think I would reduce the amount of wood chunks I used initially.

I probably also opened the door too often to check on them (and spray them with the juice), but the temp did end up being fairly well regulated throughout the process.  

The is the best shot I had of them  (taken quickly with my phone) and I lost a half rack to a hungry neighbor.  

They were a bit zippier than I thought they would be.  I probably also would have left them on the smoker for another 30 mins or so.  They were at 170-175 when I took them off.

I served them with Trader Joe's BBQ sauce on the side...  

Do you attribute the "zippiness" to the rub? And I take it you like the TJ bbq sauce? I've seen it at the store many times , but haven't tried it yet. Anyhow , the ribs look good. :grilling_smilie:

Do you attribute the "zippiness" to the rub? And I take it you like the TJ bbq sauce? I've seen it at the store many times , but haven't tried it yet. Anyhow , the ribs look good.
grilling_smilie.gif