First Smoke - Happy Father's Day (pics)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

captnroger

Original poster
Sep 18, 2007
I've never done a successful smoke before, let alone own a "real smoker". So I set out to Walmart to purchase SMS unit (99 buck gasser), thanks to Sporty for the transport as the box wouldn't fit in my truck. Assembled it, and it sat on my back deck for a couple of weeks. Today I decided would be the day to give it a shot.

Off to Giant Eagle for some full spares ($2.29 a lb and they will trim them into full spares, pull the membrane and give you the skirt and extras free of charge.) Got them home and cleaned them up a bit (for reference the cutting board below is 24" wide, big ribs!)

smoke1.jpg

After rubbing yellow mustard and the rub, they are ready for the smoker:

smoke2.jpg

Here they are, loaded in the smoker. I replaced the small smoker box with a 8" cast iron pan loaded with a couple of chunks of mesquite wood.

smoke3.jpg

Fatty Time (sweated down some peppers/onions and threw in some Motz cheese):

smoke6.jpg

smoke7.jpg

Fatty's out of the smoker resting. I used thick bacon, and even though it looks uncooked it's quite crispy. I took the fatty up to 175 before pulling it to give the bacon some extra time.

smoke8.jpg

and this is why you don't trust the built-in themometer. Even though the grill thinks it's 250degrees, the seperate probe on the right confirms 226 even though they are less than an inch apart in the smoker! That's a 24 degree difference!

smoke9.jpg

Fatty cut open (sorry for blurry pic)

smoke10.jpg

3-2-1 method on the ribs. Next time I'll use less rub, but cooking-wise they turned out PERFECT.

smoke14.jpg

smoke15.jpg

I ate way way way too much but OMG so good.