First brisket Qview

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

captsly

StickBurners
Original poster
Feb 12, 2010
Santa Fe Texas
Well here goes... This is my first attempt at Qview, not my first brisket by any means.
Got the prettiest lean brisket from Sams (almost 16lbs) yesterday.

Gave it a little trim, it didn't need much as it was real lean, just cut off the hard tallow. Still plenty of fat on the bottom side!

Gave it a nice rub..

Wrapped to go into the chill box till tommorrow morning

I cheated a little, I got the pit going last night before I went to bed so I would have some coals to work with when I got up! (Worked great)
Into the pit it goes

The weather is a little chilly for this time of the year in Texas, started out in the low 40's this morning, and supposed to warm to the 50's.
I will be smoking this bad boy at as close to 275 as I can so It will be done at a reasonable hour.
I will keep you all updated as the day goes by....Stay tuned!

Looks good, what time is dinner ?
icon_cool.gif

Looks like a great start

That thing looks deeeeeeelicious already!!! Let me know when dinner is ready! What kind of concoction is your rub?

I've been looking at Sam's meat myself. Wasn't quite sure about the lack of a fat cap or at least a slim one at that.

John

That brisket ~ was it choice , prime or anything special ? Looks like a great cut of meat . Qview is working good .

Hopefully be done by 6 or 7??

Spanish paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper and celery salt
It had a nice fat cap but it was on the bottom in the pics. This is one of the prettiest briskets I have found at Sam's, which is where I mostly buy my meats.

Time for an update... 6 hours in and temp was at 165