First Brisket - Great Taste - Could be more tender

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

chomper

Original poster
Jul 25, 2010
Northern CA
Hi all - I am new to the smoking world and just purchased a Master Forge (Lowes) double door smoker.  Pulled some advice from here and did some ribs that came out great.  Did a brisket yesterday with great flavor but was a little tough. 

Here was my approach:  5 pound brisket fresh from the butcher (figured I better start small), cut 1 inch slices/scores on the fat side, was generous with the rub all over, let sit in the frig for 2 days.  Smoked with Hickory chunk wood for about 8 hours (the meat got to 190 degrees).  Had a bit of a hard time controlling the temp as when the wood chunks got "charcoal like" the heat went up and I had the gas temp. control as low as it would go.  According to the Master Forge temp gauge, the temp varied between 200 and 260.  Also, the wood and water containers are pretty small so I replaced wood chunks and added water throughout the process.  I did not use a mop or marinade.

Would love to hear any input as to why the meat might not have been as tender as it could have been as I am anxious to give it another go.  

Reactions: wingnut
First, never trust the thermometer that comes with a smoker, they are notorious for being off.  Get a good digital with a probe and use it to check your temps.  most of us use two, one for checking cabinet temps and one for monitoring internal meat temps.  A Maverick ET-73 is a good Digital with 2 probes, it is probably the #1 Digital used by smokers...

Also cook by temperature and not time.  I usually try to cook a brisket at around 225º until the internal temp is a 185º...  or 1.5hr per pound of meat.