First Brine-First smoked chicken, OH MY GOSH!

Discussion in 'Roll Call' started by naplesroo, Jan 21, 2007.

1. naplesroo

naplesroo Smoke Blower

Well, I have been using my Big Green Egg now for 5 years and just started smoking successfully with the last two weeks from what I have learned here. THANKS. I have had many great cookouts but now I am thrilled with the smoking results.

I just finished my first brining on a chicken today, 5 hours in a recipe I copied off of this site. I then smoked it for 4 1/2 hours between 225 and 240 on my BGE using pecan chips. It was a great success and one of the best chickens I have done. Moist, flavorful, etc., etc., etc.

Below are pics of the temp, 1/2 way through and then the final product.

And oh yea, to DeeJayDebi, yes the chicken was waving but it lost its hand pretty quick!!

These pics are out of order and can't seem to get in order...oh well :?

Well on to the next successful smoke.

2. deejaydebi

deejaydebi Smoking Guru

Good Job NaplesRoo -

She looks wonderful! Hi Henie! I like the "fig leaf" on the private parts too!

:lol:

Debi

3. Absolutely Beootiful! [​IMG] Great color!

4. vulcan75001

vulcan75001 Smoking Fanatic OTBS Member

Nice job...What's next on the menu?

5. ultramag

ultramag SMF Events Planning Committee

Good looking yardbird NaplesRoo. Looks like the BGE gets the job done, your hooked for sure now. ;)

6. deejaydebi

deejaydebi Smoking Guru

Irwin -

Good thing that bird looks friendly - might be keeping you company now that you be spending all you money on "Big Meat" and smokin stuff!

Debi

7. cheech

cheech Master of the Pit OTBS Member

Nice looking bird, never tried pecan is that pretty good?

8. naplesroo

naplesroo Smoke Blower