Electric Vs. Wood

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hondamandan

Original poster
Jan 26, 2010
I am getting some great advice! Because I am new to the Hobby, some people think I should go electric. For some reason this does not appeal to me. (I'm not sure why). After all my research I think I have it narrowed down to a lang patio model, or a horizon. From what I can figure the Lang reverse flow is the better way to go over the conventional off-set. My big question is this-Is there a better taste using the wood over the electric? Am I right in going with the reverse flow? I not in a big rush, I live in Pittsburgh and it's cold! Thanks for all your help!!!! Dan

honda - my opinion is that if you're going to learn, you mght was well elarn right ~ get yourself a charcoal/wood smoker such as an ECB or SnP and learn to tend a fire. the rewards are worth it!

When you are talking a lang you are talking a good amount of money. Now they are a great smoker and I would give one of my troubled kids for one JK but it's quite the undertaking for a hobby. You might want to start smaller and work your way up to a lang. Maybe a good smoking charcoal unit so you could get used to tendering a fire. Unless you of course move next to me then you should go ahead and buy the lang smoker.
PDT_Armataz_01_34.gif

Go with wood or charcoal to learn the craft.

I personally find a big difference in taste and texture between items smoked with wood or charcoal, vs an electric or even a gas smoker. The items smoked using wood or charcoal taste better to me, its not even close. Just my opinion.