Eating Charcoal

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cwblile

Original poster
Feb 16, 2009
Germany
Hello all from the newbie. I'm new to smoking and forums. I've never smoked meat before and could use some advise. I'm currently stationed in Germany and can't get my hands on any Mom and Pop's pit BBQ. Being an Okie my craving got the best of me and I broke down and purchased a propane Smoke Hollow smoker. It looks like a big safe, with a water holder and wood case. It came with no instructions so I did some Googling and came up with a rib rub. I rubbed the ribs down and also through on a pork butt. I kept the temp at 200 degrees and it smelled like I was making some mouth watering ribs and sandwiches. I checked them at the three hour point and everything was charcoal. Not wanting to make the same mistake can anyone tell me what I did wrong?

Hello, and welcome to the SMF. My first question is, did you calibrate the original therm? Test it against one that has been calibrated. Most of us replace the factory unit somewhere down the line. I'm not familiar with your smoker, but you need to check whatever is reading the cabinet temp. Good luck.

is there any way you can post pics of your set-up? what therm. are you using? was the smoke thin and blue, or thick and white?

Welcome to SMF cwbile!!!
I wouldn't trust the factory thermometer...Mine is so far off, it's useless!!

Welcome to the Forum! Ditto here with the original temp gauge. Found mine to be off almost 40*degree's . Went to Walmart and bought a digital one.That solved the problem.

Welcome to the forum. We also need to know what kind of wood/chips are you using?