Dry curing thicker cuts of meat

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bagbeard

Meat Mopper
Original poster
May 24, 2013
Scotland, Ontario, Canada
I used the montreal smoked meat recipe from here and loved it.  im not very good at identifying cuts of meat and a worker at the butcher sold me a whole outside flat and told me it was a brisket.  iv read this cut is good for corning so i want to try. 

the outside flat is about 4 1/2" thick, much thicker than brisket. When wet curing , meat is injected to penetrate.  What about dry curing?  do i just cure it longer?

Typically "dry curing" is a method that takes months and uses cure #2.... For a brisket, "dry brining" is where you rub the meat with spices and cure #1.... place is a tub or zip bag in the refer for several days, turning daily... the length of time for a thorough cure is calculated at 1 day per 1/4" of thickness... meat over 2" thick needs to be injected with a cure solution and "wet brining" is highly recommended for those thick cuts.... Use Pops brining method adding spices that are used for corning if you are making corned beef... inject the meat, using the brine/cure solution, at 10% of the weight of the hunk of meat... then place in the bucket with the rest of the brine/cure in the refer... keeping covered with liquid for 10-14 days......