• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Drilling a hole for ET-73

johnnyo

Fire Starter
51
10
Joined Jan 12, 2007
Hi, I got a Big Block coming.. Can I just drill Holes for inserting the probes for the ET-73, rather than inserting them through the chimney?
 

pigcicles

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
2,533
14
Joined Nov 25, 2006
johnnyo - it's your show, you can do whatever you like with your smoker. But before you go drilling a hole in your GOSM, What concerns do you have that you would want to drill the hole instead of using the vent? There are many ways to get around problems, we'll help you find a good solution.

Keep Smokin
 

johnnyo

Fire Starter
51
10
Joined Jan 12, 2007
Thanks for your reply PigCicles.. Really no huge concern , only a couple of dumb thoughts.. one is the ditance for the probe wires to go, a foot or so to the chimney hole, then down to the ham or whatever on the bottom rack.. I was going by the old theory of mine, shortest distance between 2 points.. Second, I read somewhere on this forum that there were some concerns of the probe wire getting too hot, & to be careful.. so again I figured the chimney might get pretty hot.. Just trying to figure things out ahead so I don't screw something up..
 

vulcan75001

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
844
11
Joined May 27, 2006
johnnyo
Hello there... I use the et-73 myself and have never had any problems with the probe wire....if you are concerned about the wire being too short..maverick has probes with 6' wires...check their web site...or if you still have the instruction sheet...they are listed there...

Later
Richard
 

smokin stang

Smoke Blower
100
10
Joined Nov 15, 2006
Johnnyo.
I drilled a small diameter hole in the back of my smoker like you are wanting to do probably to keep the probe wire out of your way. Just drill the hole large enough so you can insert the probe with .003 clearance or so for example.
 

johnnyo

Fire Starter
51
10
Joined Jan 12, 2007
Thanks all, yup I'll order the 6 Ft. probes... living in the land of 1 month summers & 11 months of tough sledding, I think I'll be looking at putting insulation on the outside in the future.. And reading about others putting insulation on & screwing it on, I kinda figured "what's one more hole",(no pun intended), of course that was before I got all your answers here.. now I just have to wait for it.. in the meantime, back to my little old wooden crapper style smoker, not fancy but it smokes..
 

oillogger

Meat Mopper
OTBS Member
263
12
Joined Jun 25, 2006
I own the ET-7 and Big Block. I have only used the top vent on my Big Block to insert the ET-7 probes thru and never had a problem reaching the lowest cooking grate. There should no need to drill holes in your new smoker.
 

Dutch

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Administrator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
OTBS Admin
Group Lead
7,038
223
Joined Jul 7, 2005
johnnyo- if you plan it right, mount the insulation where the mounting bolts for the rack supports are-You'll need to use a longer bolt to allow for the insulation and you don't have to worry about drilling any extra holes.
 

johnnyo

Fire Starter
51
10
Joined Jan 12, 2007
Thanks Oillogger, & Dutch , you should put Whiz in front of your name.. Great idea.. NOW, judging by the pics, the shiny part goes against the smoker, and the joints are all covered with the silver tape.. How about the insulation, will it get weathered bad?
looks like the blue plastic or paper is to the outside..
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.