Digit Q vs Flame boss

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

buckaholic84

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 30, 2016
MD
I've been smoking for around 3 or 4 years now. I started with a Masterbuilt propane smoker. It bit the dust last fall. My wife got me a WSM 22 for Xmas. I've done a couple smokes on it so far and both turned out great. (chicken and baby backs)

The baby backs it held perfect around 225 for almost all the cook. So I don't feel like I really need a ATC. I would love to have one for long cooks like brisket and pork butt.

I was planning on getting the digit Q since that's close to as much as I want to spend but now I see the flame boss 200 is only 50 or 60 bucks more. The main difference I see between the 2 is the WiFi and variable speed fan on the flame boss. I don't really need the WiFi as I have a maverick 732. but it would be nice to not have 2 probes to monitor grate temp.

I'm torn as to which one I should get. Has anyone used both or either that has pros and cons of each unit. Thanks

I've been smoking for around 3 or 4 years now. I started with a Masterbuilt propane smoker. It bit the dust last fall. My wife got me a WSM 22 for Xmas. I've done a couple smokes on it so far and both turned out great. (chicken and baby backs)

The baby backs it held perfect around 225 for almost all the cook. So I don't feel like I really need a ATC. I would love to have one for long cooks like brisket and pork butt.