Damper closed or open???

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

housetiger

Original poster
Feb 5, 2010
Alabama
Hello everyone! I am fixing to smoke ribs for the first time this Sunday for the big game. I have a Char-Broil Gas Smoker like this one http://www.charbroil.com/consumer/pr...10&Name=Series. I need to know how to control the damper on the top. I want to make sure that I don't ruin the ribs by them getting "smoked out" and tasting bitter from all the smoke. So my question is do I leave the damper closed or do I open it a certain amount? Thanks in advance!

First a caveat -- I'm a newbie myself, and I have never used that smoker. But here is what I have read here.

Most posts I've read say to keep the exhaust damper wide open, and control with the intake of the smoker (not sure if you can with yours or not).

Also, many, if not most here advocate the 3-2-1 method (or a similar variation). Do a search for it, it may even be a sticky.

I'm sure other more experienced folks will add add their input. This is a great place to learn.

Welcome to SMF!

I would say that since it is a propane smoker and holding the heat should not be a problem, that you want the top vent open all the way or near that. Let the smoke flow, mine leaks on top to let the smoke out. With yours I would control the smoke by amount of chips used.

With propane you need good air flow to the burner at all times or else the flame may go out with the gas still flowing....So if it has an adjustment vent on the bottom..I would say never use it anyplace but open all the way.

The exhaust vent should be all the way open. You can use the bottom vents (if so equipped) to help control the fire.