CT Smoker- Hey there all!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

robcava

Meat Mopper
Original poster
May 20, 2015
CT
Hi guys and gals. I am a long time lurker on this site...I can't even say how many great tips and tricks I have discovered in this forum over the years. I decided to join because I am thinking of taking this hobby to the next level, but that will be the topic of another thread. About me- raised in Waterbury CT in an Italian family that loved to cook! Dont they all.

I paid my way through college cooking at various restaurants up by ECSU, mostly steakhouses/fine food, so I have some professional experience. I moved down to NC when I was 25. I remember my very first real NC pulled pork sandwich at a little roadside stand. Since then I have been hooked.

I moved back to CT several years ago and I have been an avid backyard smoker for the last 20 years. I do all of the standards and also mess around with new recipes all the time. I would say I am a fairly advanced BBQer- although not at the level of your competition guys out there I am sure. I have a bunch of grills/smokers. But I split my time mostly between an XL Big Green Egg (I resisted these things for years, but now I love them) and a heavily modded cheap offset smoker. I may be building a cabinet style with one of my neighbors for a fun project.

Anyways, I wanted to introduce myself since I plan on becoming really active on this board. 

Welcome to the forum Rob! You'll find a lot of great people here who are always happy to help. Post smoe pics of your next smoke so we can enjoy it along with you! Happy smokin', David.

texas.gif