Cross Rib Pot Roast - Please Help!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rayf01

Original poster
Jun 22, 2013
Hi everyone.

I am relatively new to smoking. I have done a few batches of beef jerky, a pork tenderloin and some chicken wings. So far everything has turned out good.

I am supposed to smoke a Cross Rib Pot Roast tomorrow for a gathering. Its a small roast, about 3 pounds. I have no clue where to start, what a good rub recipe is, how long to actually smoke it with wood vs just using heat, or even how long it will take. I need to time it appropriately so its ready for supper.

I use a Masterbuilt digital electric smoker and I have apple wood and maple chips right now.

Could you guys give me some advice, would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You.

Probably medium rare to medium? Usually my family has always done them in the oven or slow cooker and there is rarely any red left. I'd like to try do it with some pink left at least, nice and juicy.

I found this website describing what that cut of beef I have is I believe:

http://www.themeatsource.com/crossribroast.html

I also put this in the wrong forum. Could an admin move it up to the parent forum?

I'd smoke it like a chuck roast. Bascially, it's a pot roast that fairs better with moist cooking for a long time so connective tissue can break down and become tender. This cut will go tough on you in a nano second if you're not careful & under cooking is just as bad. I'd follow Bearcarvers chucky tutorial since you're using a MES. I've used this method on a chuck roast with good results. http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/99125/chuckie-step-by-step-with-qview