CPAP Advice

  • Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

BrianGSDTexoma

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Aug 1, 2018
4,933
5,357
North Texas, Texoma
My CPAP is on the recall. It is also messing up on me and need a new one. Not sure what kind of CPAP I would even get on the recall. My sleep study was old and could not get prescription. I took a home study through local doctor. It's been three months. I told person I not waiting for recall and just want to get one through my insurance. I have asked several times for my prescription so I can just do it myself but keep keep getting the run around. Not sure what to do at this point. Anyone have any experience with this? My deductible is paid for the year and really wanted to get this done by end of year.

Anybody using one of the newer Auto CPAP? That is what I think I want.
 
Last edited:

Cattoon

Fire Starter
SMF Premier Member
Oct 27, 2018
32
22
NW Alabama
I started using cpap about 2 weeks ago and the machine I have is the Luna II. I haven’t had a problem with the machine at all. It starts at 4 and then increases over 15 minutes to 10 which is thankfully all the pressure I needed. The ramp time is adjustable and the heat/humidifier is also.
 

MJB05615

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
May 12, 2018
3,504
2,048
DACULA GA
Brian, mine is also on Recall for 14 months. Phillips Respironics. Over a year ago when the Recall came out, I switched to my old machine not on recall. Lucky I still had that. But it is over 10 years old, and they're supposed to be replaced every 5 years. I'm at a loss too. All I get from Phillips are newsletters promising they'll get this done. I'm almost at a point to use the Recalled one. This was over filter disintegration from using specific cleaners. I've only used tap water to clean the filter they're talking about, so most likely mine is safe to use. They are terrible the way they handled this, so when I finally get a replacement, it won't be their brand.
 

noboundaries

Legendary Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Sep 7, 2013
9,768
4,639
Roseville, CA, a suburb of Sacramento
I have no idea if mine is on the recall or not. It is an APAP machine with the full face (nose and mouth) mask. The low and high setting is set by the company and can only be adjusted by them.

The low setting was too high for me. After a few weeks of use, my gut would fill with air. MASSIVE pain that would take a week to clear after I paused the using the machine. Imagine the worst stomach cramps you've ever had, then quadruple it. My wife said, "Sounds like you're getting your period. Now you know what I went through"

Ins company was unresponsive to fix. Machine is gathering dust.

Switched to extra strength Breathe Right strips and a chin strap to keep my mouth closed.

Just checked. It's a ResMed machine.
 

boykjo

Renowned Sausage Maker
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
Group Lead
Apr 28, 2010
7,604
1,127
Raleigh,NC
I have the resmed 9 but I just recieved the new ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet Card-to-Cloud with HumidAir. Had it for about a week now. Its supposed to be all automatic. It was @ 4-20 autoset but I'm not a fan of the automatic. I went to youtube and found out how to jail break it and changed my settings. Dont like the low and slow start ramp.. I like to start @ 7 then ramp to a setpoint around 10-12 but not go over 15. This unit will adjust as you sleep so it will change as how you sleeping. If you get a small leak it will go up near 20 and create a bigger leak. I have to report to my doc soon so I'll let them know of the changes I made. IMO I think the recalls are just to get you to buy a new one.
 

Steve H

Legendary Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Feb 18, 2018
9,324
9,707
Newark New York
I have the resmed 9 but I just recieved the new ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet Card-to-Cloud with HumidAir. Had it for about a week now. Its supposed to be all automatic. It was @ 4-20 autoset but I'm not a fan of the automatic. I went to youtube and found out how to jail break it and changed my settings. Dont like the low and slow start ramp.. I like to start @ 7 then ramp to a setpoint around 10-12 but not go over 15. This unit will adjust as you sleep so it will change as how you sleeping. If you get a small leak it will go up near 20 and create a bigger leak. I have to report to my doc soon so I'll let them know of the changes I made.
I have the 10 variant. Brian. They can send you the test kit to your house to upgrade your subscription. The APAP are so much better than the CPAP. My first machine was 8 years old. And I didn't need to redo my original test results.
 

BrianGSDTexoma

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Thread starter
Aug 1, 2018
4,933
5,357
North Texas, Texoma
I have the resmed 9 but I just recieved the new ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet Card-to-Cloud with HumidAir. Had it for about a week now. Its supposed to be all automatic. It was @ 4-20 autoset but I'm not a fan of the automatic. I went to youtube and found out how to jail break it and changed my settings. Dont like the low and slow start ramp.. I like to start @ 7 then ramp to a setpoint around 10-12 but not go over 15. This unit will adjust as you sleep so it will change as how you sleeping. If you get a small leak it will go up near 20 and create a bigger leak. I have to report to my doc soon so I'll let them know of the changes I made. IMO I think the recalls are just to get you to buy a new one.
I was kind of wondering about that. Sometimes upgrades are really down grades. I called the place I got my old one from and they have stock and said Ins will cover. I called that lady I been dealing with and asked her send info. She has pretty much lied about everything so far so I don't expect this to happen. She needs to be fired! My only choice may be to take another sleep study to get prescribtion. I did the home one few months ago and that was miserable not wearing CPAP.
 

noboundaries

Legendary Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Sep 7, 2013
9,768
4,639
Roseville, CA, a suburb of Sacramento
I just recieved the new ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet Card-to-Cloud with HumidAir. Had it for about a week now. Its supposed to be all automatic. It was @ 4-20 autoset but I'm not a fan of the automatic. I went to youtube and found out how to jail break it and changed my settings.
I have the RM AirSense 10. Watched the YouTube video. Dusted off the machine. We'll see.
 

boykjo

Renowned Sausage Maker
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
Group Lead
Apr 28, 2010
7,604
1,127
Raleigh,NC
I have the RM AirSense 10. Watched the YouTube video. Dusted off the machine. We'll see.
I had to drop $190 bucks for the deductable/co-pay or what ever they call it on the new machine. Then I have to rent the machine for $32 dollars month for three months then I have to show them that I have been using it then the insurance will pay for the rest of the total. If I dont use it I will be resposible for thre rest of the balance. They dont want people getting them through insurance and not using them or selling them.
 

jcam222

Legendary Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Jun 13, 2017
8,142
8,946
Northeast Ohio
I had my Phillips Resperonics replaced via the recall. It did take a couple of months. Mine is APAP set up which I like as it gives adequate self adjusting pressure when I breathe in and much less pressure when breathing out. Thst and nasal pillows has worked for me for years. I never sleep without it. When I started on continuous pressure I struggled breathing out against the pressure, a friend coached me through telling the doc that and he switched me to this. By the way anyone seeing a trend here?? Lol does smoked meat cause sleep apnea?? Lol
 

noboundaries

Legendary Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Sep 7, 2013
9,768
4,639
Roseville, CA, a suburb of Sacramento
Mine was free with my insurance. It worked great for a while, about 7 months. I slept better than I had in years. Then, it would wake me up blasting air at 20 psi and my belly was full of air. The pain followed.
According to the hack video, the unit has a track record of falsely detecting leaks then blasting full flow.

Mine has an Internet connection that automatically reports use and tracks your apnea episodes. The insurance company checked it. You can check it too, online.
 

Kvgsqtii

Smoke Blower
SMF Premier Member
Feb 28, 2022
81
109
SC
Mine was recalled too. Just received my replacement after filling out the paperwork in July of 2021. The new machine is a Phillips Respironic APAP.
 

MJB05615

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
May 12, 2018
3,504
2,048
DACULA GA
I had my Phillips Resperonics replaced via the recall. It did take a couple of months. Mine is APAP set up which I like as it gives adequate self adjusting pressure when I breathe in and much less pressure when breathing out. Thst and nasal pillows has worked for me for years. I never sleep without it. When I started on continuous pressure I struggled breathing out against the pressure, a friend coached me through telling the doc that and he switched me to this. By the way anyone seeing a trend here?? Lol does smoked meat cause sleep apnea?? Lol
You're lucky you got the replacement already. I got an email offering $50 toward a new one. Laughable. I can only use the Nasal pillows as well. They discontinued the Mask I've been using and the pillows replacements. So I also have to source a new headgear system. They don't make it easy. LOL does smoked meat cause sleep apnea. I started with my issues around 2004.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jcam222

Burlymanchef

Newbie
Jan 15, 2021
11
7
I have the resmed 9 but I just recieved the new ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet Card-to-Cloud with HumidAir. Had it for about a week now. Its supposed to be all automatic. It was @ 4-20 autoset but I'm not a fan of the automatic. I went to youtube and found out how to jail break it and changed my settings. Dont like the low and slow start ramp.. I like to start @ 7 then ramp to a setpoint around 10-12 but not go over 15. This unit will adjust as you sleep so it will change as how you sleeping. If you get a small leak it will go up near 20 and create a bigger leak. I have to report to my doc soon so I'll let them know of the changes I made. IMO I think the recalls are just to get you to buy a new one.
I have the same one and will jail break in the AM Thanks!
 

Brokenhandle

Legendary Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Nov 9, 2019
8,244
7,670
Nw Iowa
I have several friends and relatives that use these in one form or another...but reading through this I'm kinda glad I don't have one. On a side note...our daughter was born a month early (she's 30 now) her lungs weren't quite developed so was on a monitor for 3 months...my wife said she was gonna put it on me, that I quit breathing during the night.

Ryan
 

Hammond guy

Newbie
Apr 29, 2020
19
8
I have been waiting over a year for my cpap. When they do get cpaps in they get sent to people who have bigger apnea issues than i do. Frustrating!!
 

BandCollector

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
I couldn't use a CPAP.

Kept waking me up, uncomfortable, and was a pain to keep clean. My PCP recommended seeing a sleep specialist dentist who prescribed a dental appliance which worked from day one.

No more snoring, apnea, or abrupt awakenings. Have been using it for years.

I understand that now there is an implant that I am going to investigate.

John
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: chopsaw

crpngdth2001

Fire Starter
Dec 9, 2009
59
24
Terra Alta, WV
I had similar issues when I tried to adjust to a CPAP machine. I tried a dental appliance, which I also had trouble with. Ultimately, I had to have surgery - which was a miserable experience. It has corrected the issue - but it was a painful and long recovery due to all of the work done. They removed my tonsils and adenoids, did RF thinning of the base of my tongue, stitched my windpipe to my hyoid bone, and fixed my deviated septum (rhinoplasty) as well. Had I understood the full extent of the misery I was going to face for months, I may have tried a little harder to adjust to CPAP and/or a dental appliance.
 

boykjo

Renowned Sausage Maker
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
Group Lead
Apr 28, 2010
7,604
1,127
Raleigh,NC
I had similar issues when I tried to adjust to a CPAP machine. I tried a dental appliance, which I also had trouble with. Ultimately, I had to have surgery - which was a miserable experience. It has corrected the issue - but it was a painful and long recovery due to all of the work done. They removed my tonsils and adenoids, did RF thinning of the base of my tongue, stitched my windpipe to my hyoid bone, and fixed my deviated septum (rhinoplasty) as well. Had I understood the full extent of the misery I was going to face for months, I may have tried a little harder to adjust to CPAP and/or a dental appliance.
ouch!
 

Tybo

Newbie
Oct 17, 2022
14
3
I couldn't use a CPAP.

Kept waking me up, uncomfortable, and was a pain to keep clean. My PCP recommended seeing a sleep specialist dentist who prescribed a dental appliance which worked from day one.

No more snoring, apnea, or abrupt awakenings. Have been using it for years.

I understand that now there is an implant that I am going to investigate.

John
I'm supposed to use my cpap but gave up. I gave it 6-7 months but it kept me awake fighting with that hose and sleeping on my side would move the mask enough that it thought there was a leak so it would ramp up like a blower! The final straw was when I rolled over and jerked the machine off the night stand and water got all over the floor from the tank. I figured not sleeping was just as unhealthy so I gave up. I just saw my pulmonologist after a year and he flipped out. Said if I wasn't gonna wear it he was gonna prescribe oxygen for night use. That was 2 months ago and I haven't heard a word. Guess he forgot.
 

Latest posts