couple of pork questions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ty stromquist

Original poster
Jul 23, 2007
Ok tommorow doing my second butt. Got 2 butts that are about 7 lbs each with bone in.

I was looking at that finishing sauce posted above and was thinking of doing that.

Some others say to use a drip pan and catch the drippings and use them in the sauce. Whats a drip pan?

Do you think I should smoke for about 6 hours then let wrap it in foil or just let it roll the rest of the time in the smoker?

Also have read where people put onions, peppers, garlic, etc into the water pan. Does this help or is it worth my time?

Sorry guys. Lots of newbie questions cuz well im a newbie.
PDT_Armataz_01_23.gif

Im using an upright Smokey Mountain gas smoker with hickory from walmart.

what he said. i'd throw a couplebulbsof garlic& a whole unpeeled onion on too- add that to youfinishing sauce- goby your taste instinct... think what would taste good.....and add a couple ears of corn to the smoker- sprayon melted butter or add a stick of whole butter to a pan... you won't regret it.

so i can just buy one of those disposable pans and use it just underneath the meat?

Hi,
I am new to smoking also. I have done only 5 butts. I have it down to where the meat just falls apart.

I would BBQ until 165° @ 225° then wrap in foil. Take the butt to 195° then remove from BBQ and wrap in 2 towels and put in a dry cooler for 2 hours. Unwrap and enjoy pulled pork.

I think you will be looking at 10 +- hours total time at least. I learned this the hard way, give it time, that is the solution to good BBQ, do not try and rush it. Give yourself some time.