Cooking steaks straight over wood?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

sandman67

Original poster
Sep 2, 2008
I read somewhere where the guy said he cooked steaks straight over mesquite wood. Said it was the best steak he ever made. I'm still learning here so please don't mind the question but does that mean he just used wood, no charcoal to cook with? If so how is that done? Are you cooking the steaks as the wood is burning with flames or are you burning the wood down to coals and then cooking over them? He said the steaks had no grill marks on them which makes me think there was no open fire....

Im new too but I am going to assume he smoked em with the mesquite wood. Somebody else should know the answer to that definetly though.

When I cook a steak over wood or otherwise,

I will get a heap ofcharcoal going more than what I need for a smoke and let that get good and hot. I will throw a couple of logs on, put my coal bed as close to my grill grate as possible and puta sheetpan upside down over the grate. (use an old one it will warp and discolor.)

after about 20 minutes or when the logs are mostly burned down, I will lower the coal bed and take off the sheet pan. brush the grates with oil (careful for flairups)

And with the steak at a diagonal 10 o'clock placement on the grill .

then I turn it over with a flip so it is diagonla at 2 o'clock on the other side.

next I flip it over in the same 2 o'clock direction, and finally for the last flip I have back flipped over at the 10 o'clock position.

depending on the thickness of your steak it can be anywhere from 1 minute to a side to 7 minutes to a side for a big 14 oz. newyork.