cooking pulled pork few days prior to serving????

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jerseydrew

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Dec 7, 2012
i've cooke quite a few butts already, but usually plan out the time to serve them a few hours after cooking. this time i do not want to be a slave to the food for a party on sunday. so i have tomorrow that i can cook two 10 lb butts for pulled pork. now the cooking process i have down to how i like it. what i have never tried before is storing and reheating the pulled pork. 

i was planing on having it done sometime tomorrow night, pulling and putting into gallon zip lock bags with the juices from the pork to keep it moist. what i am unsure of is to throw in the fridge or freezer and how to reheat it without drying it out?

any help?

Do you have a crock pot?

I wouldn't freeze if it's only going to be a couple of days.

You should be okay keeping it in the fridge until Sunday. To reheat. put meat juices and all in tin pans or casserole pans, cover with foil and reheat at 170* or 180* in the oven. Or put it in a crockpot on the low settting. If your worried about moisture add some more finishing sauce, or apple juice. I've never had a moisture issue and  prefer to do my pork several days in advance.

Last edited:
I place mine in steamer pan in the fridge a few day before an event, then it goes into the oven 250° an hour or so before serving, then it goes into the steamer pan, I do use a finishing sauce.

You may want to plastic wrap the pan then foil, because sometimes the finishing sauce may eat through the foil.