• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Converted charcoal smoker to gas

dave11

Smoke Blower
118
10
Joined Nov 6, 2005
I converted my Charboril silver smoker to gas for free! I used a gas burner from my turkey fryer and put it in the fire box. Works great so far. I would be glad to post some pics if anyone is intersted. I can now use gas or charcoal with a small amount of effort to convert. I had a 8# brisket to smoke,and didnt want to play with charcoal for 12 hrs. Yes I have a smokey mnt.gas smoker, but I just wanted to try this with the charbroil.
 

brett_s

Newbie
26
10
Joined Dec 13, 2005
If you have pictures, I would like to see it. I've been thinking of doing something similar.

Brett
 

dave11

Smoke Blower
118
10
Joined Nov 6, 2005
Brett,Ill post them asap. Right now its gonna rain pretty bad for a couple of days.Ill have them up by the weekend
 

dave11

Smoke Blower
118
10
Joined Nov 6, 2005
Brett, Here they are.
http://img181.imageshack.us/slidesho...3941226lq.smil You may have to copy and paste to your browser,I cant get the link to work.(sorry) I have to admit,this was not my idea. I saw an advertisement somewhere on the internet that were selling burners for this conversion,and I rembered I had an old turkey fryer in the shed,and decided to give it a try. I bolted the burner to the charcoal grate that came with the smoker. This gave the burner about 3/4 inch clearance from the bottom of the fire box for air. Then I threaded the hose through the air damper, and set the burner on the bottom of the fire box.The wire grate on top of the burner sits about 1 inch above the burner. That grate I had made a long time ago. I can also use the smoker box the came with the smokey mountian smoker,for wood. Now when I want to use charcoal instead of gas,Its just a simple matter of reaching in and pulling the gas burner out. Swapping from charcoal to gas takes all of 15 sec. You could probably even use the gas to light the charcoal if you wanted to.As long as you shut the gas tank off after you did.I just dont trust the gas hose that close to hot charcoal.
 

bob-bqn

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
680
11
Joined Aug 5, 2005
All you need to do to get the link to work is have a "space" before and after the active HTML link. See above quote (I actually gave it its own line).

Looks like an effective gas mod. 8)
 

Dutch

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Administrator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
OTBS Admin
Group Lead
7,038
223
Joined Jul 7, 2005
Nice mod, Dave.

BTW-I fixed your link for you. Nice presentation.
 

dave11

Smoke Blower
118
10
Joined Nov 6, 2005
Thanks Earl. I tryed to fix it myself,But still had trouble.
Dave
 

cheech

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
2,330
14
Joined Dec 19, 2005
nice job

I love the picture viewer that is great
 

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.