Controlling heat on an ECB?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jishaq

Original poster
Oct 9, 2009
Santa Cruz, CA
Hey guys,

One question I have while reading through the forums. I see it commonly suggested that poultry should smoke at about 325 degrees, and ribs at about 225 degrees. Ok, great! So as a total newbie, what do I do differently in preparing the ECB for doing a 325-degree smoke, versus a 225-degree smoke?

What are the single most important factor(s) that affect the cooking temperature, on a humble El Cheapo Brinkmann? If I had to guess right now, I would say first is the amount of lit charcoal at any given time, since fuel = heat; then second, whether the water pan had water in it, and whether that water were cold or hot, since its entropy plays an important part in the overall internal temperature.

Is this accurate? Am I missing some biggies? Probably airflow, like venting the charcoal pan and optionally the top, but that's a mod I've seen discussed as optional in most cases.

-Jeff

Hello Jishaq,

I started with an ECB I bought at Wally World. I had the hardest time controlling the fire. After two tries at chicken and one at ribs... All three not working out so well, I made the mods that you can find on this site. The main one being to put the charcoal pan on it's own stand so you can lift the whole unit up over and off the coals. However, it was still more trouble than it was worth. (This is just my opinion of course, I'm sure others here get along with them just fine) I knew I loved the flavor of smoked food, and I really wanted to get good at smoking but cooking on that ECB was going to drive me to drinking (In a bad way!
PDT_Armataz_01_05.gif