coal from a coal mine ??

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

frostbite3

Original poster
Sep 16, 2013
East Helena Montana
Hi---Im new to smoking and acquired a brand new mr meat smoker. I got it at a estate auction and it is from 1989. They don't make it any more but I have smoked some salmon and chicken with it with good results.I have been wondering about using charcoal and read on this forum that charcoal contains wood sawdust and glue.  My brother works in a coal mine near Roundup Montana. Would natural coal straight from a mine work for smoking or does it need to be enhanced somehow before using it? Thanks for any help and really like this smoking good site.

Coal smoke is ghastly smelling. I know that some coal dust is used in charcoal briquetts, and I don't know how they get rid of the smell, but I can't imagine eating something smoked with coal alone.

Chuck
Kingsford uses coal in their "Blue Bag" briquettes, I don't know that any other briquette maker does.

The coal that is mined in Montana is generally used to power electrical plants, IMHO you should not use it in your BBQ.

Coal Fired Pizza Ovens are common in NY and have a strong following over wood or gas Pizza Ovens. Prior to the 70's Coal fired cook stoves were very common, my Grandma in NE PA had 2. I find the smell nostalgic as she baked everything from Bread to Pies and the best Turkey I have ever eaten. The main fuel was the very hard Anthracite Coal that burns Clean. There is no reason not to use it but I would find out what type of coal you can get. Can't hurt to try it and see if there is an objectionable flavor on the meat...JJ