Charcoal Basket UDS Question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ecto1

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Feb 22, 2010
Spring, Tx
Ok how long of a piece of expanded metal would I need to go around the 13 inch charcoal grate. My calculations are 40 inches but at homedepot the expanded metal comes in 24 inch sections. Any ideas or advice would be helpful. I am planning my burnout next weekend and the rest of the build the weekend after.

I CUT MINE OFF A ROLL AT WORK WE GET 4-8 SHEETS,BUT GETCHA A TAPE MEASURE AND MARK 13 INCHES AND MEASURE AREOUND IT,YOU CANT BEAT A UDS SMOKER,I HAVE BEEN USING ON FOR OVER 20 YRS AND IT JUST DONT GET ANY BETTER.... GOOD LUCK ON THE BUILD
PDT_Armataz_01_42.gif

44" will give you just enough to overlap one row of "diamonds" to fit on top of a 13.5" diameter charcoal grate.

Dave

Any major difference between a round and square basket??

I don't think so other than a round one would be easier to put in your drum if you make the square one too big. Also it would be way easier for me to make a circle one than a square one but thats just me.

I think round is your best bet.

My first fire basket was too small in diameter, so there was a sort of a hot spot if the food was directly above the firebasket.

My new one has a basket that is almost as big in diameter as the drum. My goals are to spread the first chimney of hot coals over this evenly so the cooking surface is even across the 22.5" cooking grate