• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Camp Chef Disappointment

Airsick

Newbie
27
2
Joined May 20, 2020
Hey, guys. Late last year I bought a Woodwind 24 over the Rec Tec mainly because of the advertised WIFI/Bluetooth and customer service. Well the WIFI won't connect because I have 5G and they say their stuff only connects to 4G. Isn't the whole country going the 5G route?
I switched cell service to Verizon and now the app won't install.
On my third attempted smoke the hot rod wouldn't get hot, not even warm. Unreliability was the reason I took the Pit Boss to the dump! Now that my venting is over and before I call Cabela's to see if they'll take this thing back, Is there a way to convert a dedicated signal extender to 4G so it'll connect to my smoker
 

Brokenhandle

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
6,356
5,375
Joined Nov 9, 2019
Not for sure about 5g to 4g but I believe it's inkbirds therms that only connects to 2.5 not the 5...and yes I'm not very techy and forgot what they are called (big brain fart lol!)

Ryan
 

jliddil

Meat Mopper
213
121
Joined Nov 23, 2021
Hey, guys. Late last year I bought a Woodwind 24 over the Rec Tec mainly because of the advertised WIFI/Bluetooth and customer service. Well the WIFI won't connect because I have 5G and they say their stuff only connects to 4G. Isn't the whole country going the 5G route?
I switched cell service to Verizon and now the app won't install.
On my third attempted smoke the hot rod wouldn't get hot, not even warm. Unreliability was the reason I took the Pit Boss to the dump! Now that my venting is over and before I call Cabela's to see if they'll take this thing back, Is there a way to convert a dedicated signal extender to 4G so it'll connect to my smoker
Yes older 4g devices can't connect to 5g. You need to have a dual band router that has 2.5 and 5G.
 

sandyut

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
4,474
3,415
Joined Feb 18, 2015
i dont think its the G level its with wifi band as noted above. try turning off the 5GHZ on the router and see if you can connect with the 2.5GHZ. if that works then its good to turn the 5 GHZ back on for other devices.

If they will return it - I bet you will like the rec teq.
 

negolien

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
1,053
862
Joined Jan 1, 2020
yeah as much as I don't like pellet grills even my mbgf don't like anyhting above 2.4
 

DougE

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
1,620
1,601
Joined Apr 13, 2010
I have a netgear dual band access point in my barn where I use my Camp Chef. It works fine. I had Verizon long before I had the Camp Chef, and didn't have a bit of trouble installing the app, so I don't know what the deal there is.
 

Airsick

Newbie
Thread starter
27
2
Joined May 20, 2020
Yes older 4g devices can't connect to 5g. You need to have a dual band router that has 2.5 and 5G.
I'm in Tampa area also and have Frontier. My router they installed 4 years ago is a 2336_5G. Can I get a 4G signal extender and plug it in near the grill?
 

Airsick

Newbie
Thread starter
27
2
Joined May 20, 2020
I have a netgear dual band access point in my barn where I use my Camp Chef. It works fine. I had Verizon long before I had the Camp Chef, and didn't have a bit of trouble installing the app, so I don't know what the deal there is.
I had no probs with T Mobile installing the app, but we just changed to Verizon and the app will download, but won't install. The girl at Camp Chef said their app doesn't like Verizon.
 

Brokenhandle

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
6,356
5,375
Joined Nov 9, 2019
i dont think its the G level its with wifi band as noted above. try turning off the 5GHZ on the router and see if you can connect with the 2.5GHZ. if that works then its good to turn the 5 GHZ back on for other devices.

If they will return it - I bet you will like the rec teq.
Ya, GHZ... that's what I was trying to think of or say!

Ryan
 

Airsick

Newbie
Thread starter
27
2
Joined May 20, 2020
i dont think its the G level its with wifi band as noted above. try turning off the 5GHZ on the router and see if you can connect with the 2.5GHZ. if that works then its good to turn the 5 GHZ back on for other devices.

If they will return it - I bet you will like the rec teq.
I don't see any way to change it from 2.4/5G to anything else.
 

DougE

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
1,620
1,601
Joined Apr 13, 2010
Might be helpful to know what router you're working with, but you still need the app on your phone to use it, unless you have an old t mobile phone to connect to the grill.
 

rexster314

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
822
546
Joined Oct 7, 2012
The cooker manual:
1. Download the Camp Chef APP from the Apple APP store or Android Play Store. 2. Turn the Grill controller on using the main power switch. 3. Open the Camp Chef APP and follow the setup instructions for connecting the grill to your home 2.4 GHz WiFi network. WARNING - Do NOT leave this appliance unattended while in use. The user must remain in the immediate area of the product and have a clear view of the product at all times during operation.

Nowhere does it say anything about 5g. Disable the 5g portion of the wifi connection on your phone. You should be able to connect to the 2.4 radio of your home router. Your phone needs to be connected to the router on the 2.4 frequency. Do you have the app downloaded on your phone? You need that. Follow the instructions on the phone app to connect.
 

jliddil

Meat Mopper
213
121
Joined Nov 23, 2021
" 99% of devices which mention 2.4G WiFi are simply pointing out the obvious: they installed the least costly WiFi radio chip, which also has the greatest range (2.4G WiFi) If there is no 2.4G WiFi, then there is nothing for the radio to communicate with and it cannot function. There can be all the Bluetooth, AM/FM radio, Ham Radio, 5G WiFi in the world. No 2.4G WiFi means "no" "
 

1MoreFord

Smoking Fanatic
603
307
Joined Jan 4, 2020
OP, I had trouble connecting to my home wifi to begin with. I solved the problem by buying a TP-Link N300 2.4ghz extender from Amazon and placing it between my wifi enabled modem and my CC PG24SG. It's worked fine ever since. The N300 is only about $20 so it was a cheap cure. I don't know if it solve your problem but it's cheap to try and you can return it if it doesn't work.
 

DougE

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
1,620
1,601
Joined Apr 13, 2010
I'll give ya dedication. I ran a CAT5 cable from the house to my pole barn just so I could have WIFI for my grill! Well, not really, I ran the cable out there for internet because I occasionally work on equipment for other farmers in the area and often need to look up parts or service information on whatever they brung me to fix. Cellular signals don't go through metal pole barns too well and I got tired of having to go outside every time I needed a spec or whatever. Wifi in the barn also allows me to not miss phone calls (WIFI calling) when I'm in the barn, and, as an added benefit, I got connectivity when I got my pellet grill.
 

Brokenhandle

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
6,356
5,375
Joined Nov 9, 2019
I'll give ya dedication. I ran a CAT5 cable from the house to my pole barn just so I could have WIFI for my grill! Well, not really, I ran the cable out there for internet because I occasionally work on equipment for other farmers in the area and often need to look up parts or service information on whatever they brung me to fix. Cellular signals don't go through metal pole barns too well and I got tired of having to go outside every time I needed a spec or whatever. Wifi in the barn also allows me to not miss phone calls (WIFI calling) when I'm in the barn, and, as an added benefit, I got connectivity when I got my pellet grill.
I screwed up when they ran new fiber optic lines to us...should've ran one to the shop...I miss watching bugs bunny! :emoji_blush:
Actually I'm lucky can still use my phone in the shop.

Ryan
 

DougE

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
1,620
1,601
Joined Apr 13, 2010
I screwed up when they ran new fiber optic lines to us...should've ran one to the shop...I miss watching bugs bunny! :emoji_blush:
Actually I'm lucky can still use my phone in the shop.
Usually, if it's before 8PM eastern, and I'm posting on here, it's from my barn PC.
 

chesterinflorida

Smoke Blower
117
63
Joined Nov 10, 2020
You will have the same connectivity issue with just about any pellet grill you get. It’s the router you have. Figure that out first before swapping grills.
 

sandyut

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
4,474
3,415
Joined Feb 18, 2015
I don't see any way to change it from 2.4/5G to anything else.
two was to change/turn on and off the wifi networks 2.4 and 5GHZ.
1. if you have an app the you can manage your wifi router with. or
2. the website you use to manage your wifi router.

Both should have an option (check box) to turn on and off either GHZ network. If you dont have either, maybe tell us the make and model? But you will need either the app or website that manages your wifi. The manufacturers website should have these for ya if you dont have them.
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.