Built My Own... w/qview

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

solaryellow

Master of the Pit
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Jul 26, 2009
Orlando, FL
I have turned up my nose in the past to electric and propane but now that I am making my own sausage and jerky I had a need for something different. I have been plotting this one for a couple months now and finally pulled the trigger and built my own. Hopefully I will do my first batch of summer sausage and snack sticks this weekend in it. I have a couple more things I need to do but I am pretty proud of what a buddy and I did in about 9 hours.

Me drilling holes while another buddy works on cutting out some expanded metal for his UDS.

Photo_120609_002.jpg

One of the sides done.

Photo_120609_003.jpg

5 hours of planning, cutting, head scratching, etc yields 30 minutes of assembly.

Photo_120609_004.jpg

And the semi-finished result (yes, my garage is a mess):

DSC_0001.JPG

DSC_0003.JPG

For the finishing touches I want to line the bottom 1/3 with some aluminum sheets I have and I am planning on bending up some more aluminum to hold the burners and remove them from the plastic they are encased in.

Wow!
I am a cabinet maker/woodworker and must say that looks great!
What a tight looking unit. Is that birch?
I want to build my own unit but am not familiar with the other aspects. Keep the pics coming. Great job!
PDT_Armataz_01_37.gif

Thanks! I am pretty new to woodworking but I spent a lot of time researching and my buddy that helped me build it overcame my other shortcomings.
biggrin.gif

Looking good, can not wait to see more..... very interesting project.

Is your buddy going to post his UDS build also?