Building a cabinet smoker from pieces

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

stevan garner

Original poster
Oct 4, 2013
West Central Florida
First off, let me introduce myself; my name is Stevan and I am new to the smoking forums.  I am presently smoking my meats with a Red Brinkman electric smoker, the inexpensive one that has no temperature controls.

I am getting ready to convert an old Masterbuilt electric "cabinet style" smoker to a wood burner.  I already have a masterbuilt cabinet that the electric element burned out on, so I plan to remove the element box completely and by putting a pipe in the hole where the wood chip tray would have gone attach a "firebox" off to the side, I guess that would be called an "indirect" smoker.  The only problem I've run into so far is finding a wood box to attach to this.  Brinkman had shown one on there website but they are no longer supporting this item.  Does anyone have a suggestion where I may obtain something suitable for such an endeavor?  Any suggestions would be welcomed.  I am on a limited income and don't really have much that I can spare monetarily that is why I am looking to build this unit instead of buying something that is already built.

Thank you in advance and God bless!

Welcome to SMF Stevan!

If you have one of the MES 30" or 40" electric smokers ,you may want to rethink the idea?

The reason i say this is, those units are insulated and the insulation is not high temp insulation.

The mes units will only achieve 275 - 285 degrees. w/ a fire box you may get temps high enough to melt the insulation and cause a fire hazard. Just something else to think about?

Reactions: stevan garner