Brisket help

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

aschmiesing

Fire Starter
Original poster
Nov 20, 2014
I was asked to smoke a brisket by my family on Xmas eve, I have smoked a lot of things but never brisket yet. I would like any help and or opinions u guys have to offer. I'll be feeding 8 adults and 3 kids. What's size should I get? I was thinking 12-14 pounds to save on time. I live in ohio so weather should be around 40ish degrees. I have a masterbuilt vertical propane smoker. Was figuring on using hickory wood. The kicker is I have church from 2:30-4:00pm. Can I foil it and finish it in the oven? How long can u let it rest? Multiple hours? What should I use for a dry rub? Was hoping to eat around 6ish. Please help, thanks!

I did a 15lb packer, took around 14 hrs. Remember that you will loose 30-40% so a 15lb brisket would feed 8 hungry adults and the crumb catchers with a little leftover.

You need to get up EARLY and get this thing on if you want to eat at 6.

Just for reference, the last packer brisket I did was 13.6 lbs.(package weight).. Trimmed it down to 10.5 lbs.Finished weight after the cook was 6.5 lbs.  Total cook time was16 hrs.@ 225-260 +/- Probably could have been done sooner, but I had some firebox issues and lost some time.

If you want to serve it at 6PM Christmas day. I would give yourself plenty of time and start it the night before around 9 or 10 pm and it should finish around noon Christmas day. Put in cooler packed with bath towels and hold till your ready to eat at 6PM.It will still be plenty warm. May need to just put in the oven to reheat a little before serving. OR....