Brand new to smoking. Hey all

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kmcogar

Original poster
Jul 28, 2013
Edgewater, MD
Hey there,

I am brand new to smoking. Ive done a lot of reading and i believe i am ready to smoke my first rack of spare ribs. I read baby back ribs are better for beginners but i heard spare ribs taste better. So i went with taste. I actually decided to start smoking TODAY. So ill explain where im at so far and the complications i have ran into. First i went to several different stores trying to find a smoking thermometer. I was very unlucky in my search. I finally found something that might work and it only goes up to a reading of 212 degree F. My dilemma is i put my dry rub on yesterday morning and IM READY TO START SMOKING! So i decided iI was gonna try it anyways. I will just smoke at a steady 200-212 degree F. It may take alittle longer but it might still turn out good. Next thing is I just put my coals on. Of course i put them in my chimney to the top. They were blazing red and i threw them in. was thing wrong? MAN are they hot. They temp gauge keeps maxing out and i cant get the temp controlled. How long will it take to get the coals to stabilize on a lower temperature? i closed all vents and am stopping the airflow as much as i can. Its been a while now and its still heating up a lot. Just wait longer? Its probably only been an our. Anyhow, ill keep posting my mess ups throughout the day. any suggestions are welcome. THANKS ALL!

Kyle