better than masterbuilt? please?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

susieqz

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Dec 9, 2014
high plains
everyone here loves masterbuilt. everyone here does all sorts of modifications to make it work better.

screw that. i'm not a mechanic.

i want something better. i found better for $1800.

i need an electric chunk burner that holds constant heat n cold smokes n smokes well under 200 degrees. i don't care about heat over 225.

does  anybody know of a smoker that's better? i can pay a couple hundred more than masterbuilt to get a quality machine. i can't pay $1800.

there must be something midway, but i haven't found it.

no need to convince me masterbuilt is good. i believe what you guys wrote. i just want options.

A mes out of the box works fine. Yes you can make it better. No you don't have to. Take a look in the electric smoker section. Spend the day reading reviews. Since I don't own any of the other electrics I won't try to tell you anything about them. Look at the Bradly and the Cook Shack just to name a couple. More money does not always mean better.

Happy smoken.

David

thanks, dave.

i have been reading reviews. i haven't found this info. that's why i started this thread.

Last edited:
I've got a Smokin' It #3 and like it fine for about $500. It's a Cookshack clone for about 1/3 the price, built like a tank. I understand they now come with PID's for super accurate temp control. I also have a pellet smoker that I like, Char Griller from Lowes for about $450...half the price of a Traeger and bigger. Good luck hunting....Willie