Beginner drowing in a sea of information and seeking advise

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

zelix

Original poster
Nov 27, 2012
What would you consider the easiest and best recipe to start out with?  I understand that there is a search engine and I will do the leg work. I was hoping for advise from you pros so I can narrow the search.

I'm just beginning to get into sausage making. I have a sausage stuffer coming for Christmas. I own a grinder. I was wondering what would be the best and easiest type to pull off first. At first glance It would seem that Brats would be a good kicking off point. Then maybe graduate to some smoked country sausage. Am I wrong?

Can I thaw out some deer hamburger to use in this or is that a big "no-no?"

BTW: I've made some fresh patty sausage (Jimmy Dean clone). I'm looking at jumping into the stuffing world.

Thanks in advance.

I would go for Brats. They are fairly easy and taste great. Id order a kit for first attempt. I used the cabelas beer brat kit for my first time. I did not use the casings that came in the kit though. I followed the recipee but added 1 cup Soy protien powder per 5 lbs. of meat. I also added some diced jalepeno and some high temp pepperjack cheese.

Last edited:
Reactions: shannon127
Ya can't go wrong with the suggestions above. All great "beginner" sausages. I will add that Summer Sausage uses a cure, such as insta-cure #1, which raises the difficulty slightly (IMO). 

Last edited: