Been waiting a long time but temp too high . . .

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

raskol

Original poster
Jul 17, 2011
I'm new to smoking. Really, really, new.

I'm more of a pc modder than a smoker modder but I tried to do some simple mods.

I've got a problem:

- I have a chargriller with a horizontal fire box setup. My mods:

- Added flexible dryer hose to the far smokestack/vent that extends to grill level

- Covered up second smokestack/vent with dryer tubing to impede exhaust

- bought a 3" thermometer to replace the OEM thermometer from chargriller, which I calibrated using the hot method.

- turned the ash tray in the cooking area upside down to act as a partial baffle (doesn't reach to the top of the fire box entry)

- not a mod, but I bought a remote temp sensor that sits at grate level/front and registers cooking area heat

- The problem:

I knew that the first few smokes might be troublesome, so I'm starting with two slabs of babyback ribs on a hot (90 degree, east coast) day.

I put a chimney's worth of lump charcoal in the smoker box (unlit), and made a space in the middle for hot charcoal (thought that this was a (sic) Minyon method way to smoke). I also put a chunk of apple wood and a chunk of hickory on the far outside corners of the fire box.

I then started a chimney's worth of lump charcoal and waited for it to get white and glow-y.