Beef Tenderloin

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

pocketaces

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Apr 18, 2010
Green Bay, WI
I am brand new to smoking and am going to try beef tenderloin this afternoon. I can't find a whole lot of details online though.

I am using a cheap charbroil grill with sidebox. Going with lump coal to start followed by applewood. What temp do I want to smoke at? What internal temp should I get the meat to? About how long will the cooking time be?

I am doing two tenderloins. One I was thinking of using olive oil and a rub I like. The other I was thinking of wrapping in bacon.

In the waterpan I was thinking of putting some apple juice.

Any hints, tips or ideas would be VERY appreciated.

Thank you all for your help. This site is the best out there.

Most important is not to overcook. I smoke at a little higher temp because I live at high altitude, but most smoke at 225 to 235. You will get a few different opinons on internal temp, but personally I dont go over 140 before foiling and resting. Bacon will certainly help moisture. Let's face it everything is better with bacon
PDT_Armataz_01_12.gif
. It's one of the fun things about this hobby. The experiments! Go with flavors of ingrediants you like, then push the envelope with new things.

For a water bath, I like a mixture of Water, beer, apple cider vinager, apple cider, and a few dashes of chipotle hot sauce. Not sure it really does much for the flavor, but the combo of these smells and the smoke will drive anyone around you nuts
biggrin.gif