Beef Ribs and Meatloaf

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

gmc2003

Epic Pitmaster
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Sep 15, 2012
Meatloaf has always been a favorite of mine, and now that I've been smoking it for a couple of years it's becoming more of a staple. Unfortunately my wife not so much. So whats a good husband to do - make her some beef ribs. Hope you enjoy...

Getting the WSM all ready with three chunks of hickory.
DSC00510.JPG

The ribs in all their nakkid glory.
DSC00511.JPG

All seasoned up with gralic, onion powders, Kosher salt, ground black pepper and injected with some beef broth.
DSC00512.JPG

On to the meatloaf and it's fixin's
DSC00514.JPG

3lbs of 80/20 and 1lb of ground pork.
DSC00515.JPG

Veggies added...got to eat somewhat healthy. I don't cook the veggies prior to adding them. I like their juices to be released into the loaf. Plus I like the little bit of texture they add.
DSC00516.JPG

Not real pretty, but that the liquids for moisture. 2 eggs, worchester sauce, franks hot sauce and some baby rays.
DSC00517.JPG

Oatmeal added until diesired consistency.
DSC00518.JPG

Ribs on the smoker, running at 260*
DSC00519.JPG

Hand formed meatloaf
DSC00520.JPG

And onto the smoker with a couple strips of bacon for good measure. Ribs are about an hour into there heat treatment.
DSC00521.JPG

Ribs pulled at 203 to 207* about 4hr to 5hrs. no foiling this time
DSC00524.JPG

Meatloaf pulled at 160*. The meatloaf was smoked for future lunches. So it went into the fridge for a cool down. This is her the next day.
DSC00526.JPG

All sliced up and ready to go into hibernation.
DSC00527.JPG

Labeled and into the airless chambers.
DSC00528.JPG