BBQ Champs Video

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

insight

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Dec 28, 2009
I am curious as to what the experts here on the boards think of the techniques used by these gents regarding their treatment of the BBQ rib. I find it interesting and worth a try! Thanks in advance.

I'm no expert, but thought the brown sugar coat was interesting. I have the sugar in my rubs so I don't do that but it'd be cool to try sometime.

That brown sugar method was something else. I was under the impression that sugar carmelizes thereby making your meat come out darker. I guess this is not true with smoking. I didn't like the way the ribs were tearing apart though. Maybe using this method & smoking for three hours at 250° instead might work for a better tug?? Thoughts on that anyone? You know, if this catches on, there won't be too many people using a 3-2-1 or 2-2-1 method anymore. Although, some people are just stubborn in the way they prepare their food & stand by their methods no matter what. I think I will try this method next, of course posting the qview of the results & see what happens.

This is how I make my pork ribs. I started doing it about 5 years ago and never looked back. I may have seen this on TV before I don't know I remember the first time I made ribs this way rub brown sugar rub my wife said don't change a thing so as long as momma is happy I am happy. They don't turn out as sweet as you think and get some great bark.

Here is a pic of some Baby Backs after the sugar has liquefied..then I do a small sprinkle of rub and off in the smoker I go. One step I left out is I rb put in the refrigerator over night pull out put brown sugar and then more rub.