BB 3-2-1 or 2-2-1

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Which method of baby backs do you prefer?

• 3-2-1

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 2-2-1

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

xzebra

Fire Starter
Original poster
Aug 9, 2013
First let me start by saying I am a newbie to smoking and with my purchase of a MES 30 I had a few questions to those long time smokers.  

1) I have heard many say to use the 3-2-1 method, yet others say to use the 2-2-1 on baby back ribs.  Which method do you use and why?  

2)  What kind of wood do you use?  

3)  Some say to spray apple juice on them during the first step.  Would you do this?  If so how often and how much?  What about clean up?  Seems like it would get pretty sticky. 

Thanks for all of your kind help!  
smile.gif

Last edited:
I would do 2-2-1 for baby backs.  3-2-1 is more for spares since they have more meat.  I mainly use apple wood, with a little peach, but will add some hardwoods at times like hickory.  If you use a hard wood like hickory or oak, use a 4-1 ratio.  4 pieces of fruit wood to 1 piece of hardwood.  I spray my ribs every hour with apple juice.  You can also mix apple juice with some oil or apple cider vinegar if you want.  When you wrap, you can cover the ribs with some more rub or brown sugar, some squeeze butter and some honey or agave.  I also spray the ribs before I close up the foil to give some more juices for the ribs to braise in. After you unwrap them, make sure you are careful because the meat will be very moist.  Putting them back on the smoker for another hour helps tighten them back up and crisps your bark but keeps the meat very tender.  Baste with sauce maybe 20 minutes before you pull them off, cut them up and enjoy.