"Banger", Maine

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

denalieast

Original poster
May 15, 2015
Bangor, ME
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the forum.. My name is Steve, I live in Bangor, Maine, and yes, we are indeed a part of the United States!  I work in the mental health field, I'm into the outdoors and I love to fish.  I've also traveled a lot, lived in a lot of difference places, and eaten 'cue anywhere I've had the chance (from Maine to Florida, as far west as Iowa and as far east as Germany, and pretty much everywhere within the diameter of the circle on a map that I just detailed).

I'm a BBQ enthusiast, but I'm only a beginner to intermediate skill level in smoking.  So far I haven't been in a position to have one of my own (moving, college, etc.) so I've used other peoples' rigs whenever I could, but I'll be purchasing my first smoker within the next couple of weeks.  I have little experience with beef but I love smoking pork, chicken, and fish, and spent a lot of time researching and getting my baby back technique just perfect (wrote one of my college theses on a proper rib smoke as a matter of fact!). 

Yeah, I get hungry and look up tasty food.  Yes, that does inevitably lead to BBQ a lot of the time, and I find myself hyperfocused on articles, recipes, and techniques for hours at a time.  What started out as an interest became a hobby and quickly grew into an obsession.  I'm really looking forward to finally having my own setup so I can try what I've learned, practice what I know, and branch out into whole new experiences as well.